Gingerbread: a second fling.

June 10, 2011 § 1 Comment

Dark Brown Sugar is not in the best mood. Molasses has ignored her for almost three months. They had a fling back in March, but maybe he just lost interest? Was she too easy? Like, it turned out great, and the result was truly magnificent…so why hadn’t they talked for so long? That’s it, Brown Sugar says to herself. She turns around and looks at Molasses, who’s facing the opposite direction at the other end of the shelf. Oh well. Here’s to being assertive.

BS: Hey, Mollass! It’s been a long time, huh?

Molasses slowly rotates himself to face her.

M: What? Oh, hi. Errm….yeah, I guess it has. How, uh, are you?
BS: Oh, you know, just chillin’ n’ killin’.
M: That’s cool…

Silence.

BS: Ok, look. I don’t get it. That gingerbread we made a few months ago was great. I don’t understand what happened. Did I do something wrong? Why’ve you been ignoring me?
M: …
BS: Hello?! Get out of my face forever or express yourself now. RUDE.
M: Um…look, Sugie, I um…I…I don’t know how to…uh…I… I went with your sister! Light Brown Sugar. I mean, she made me. It was her fault. I…really…I had no choice…
BS: …
M: I’m sorry. What we had was great. I didn’t mean to ruin it.
BS: [shouting hysterically] Well, you can take your cloyingly sweet, cheating self and stick -

Suddenly, the cabinet doors swing open and the daylight streams in. Two hands reach in (FoodGirl’s) and simultaneously scoop up Molasses and Brown Sugar. The two ex-lovers look at each other while still in mid-air.

BS: You totally don’t deserve this, but I guess I’ll have to give you another chance.
M: I promise I won’t ever-
BS: Just shut up.
M: I promise I’ll make it up to you. I’ll make it good.

And oh, was it good.

3/4 cup white sugar
1/2 cup butter
1 egg
1 cup blackstrap molasses
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
3 teaspoons ground cinnamon
3 teaspoons ground ginger
1  teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup hot water
1/4 cup dark brown sugar

  1. Preheat oven to 350º. Butter and lightly flour a cupcake or muffin pan.
  2. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar. Stir in egg, followed by molasses.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine flour, soda, spices, and salt. Mix until all ingredients are evenly distributed throughout.
  4. Add dry to wet ingredients, mixing well. Add hot water and continue to mix until batter is consistent.
  5. Pour batter into muffin tins and sprinkle tops with brown sugar.
  6. Bake for about twenty minutes, rotating pans halfway through. Test that they’re done by sticking a knife into muffin center. Knife should come out almost clean.

adapted from an old-fashioned gingerbread loaf recipe at allrecipes.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to Gingerbread: a second fling.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Gingerbread: a second fling. at foodgasmTV.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

